ISHPSB-L Archives

October 2010


Options: Use Monospaced Font
Show HTML Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
"Roberta L. Millstein" <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
Roberta L. Millstein
Fri, 22 Oct 2010 09:00:29 -0700
text/plain (4 kB) , text/html (6 kB)
Listserv for the International Society
for the History, Philosophy, and Social Studies of Biology

(see the end of this message for directions on 
how to subscribe and unsubscribe from this 


The 2011 ISHPSSB David Hull Prize Competition

ISHPSSB seeks nominations for the 2011 David L. 
Hull Prize for History, Philosophy, and Social 
Studies of Biology. The David L. Hull Prize 
honors an extraordinary contribution to 
scholarship and service that promotes 
interdisciplinary connections between history, 
philosophy, social studies, and biology. In the 
spirit of David Hull's own service to the 
profession and his support for the contributions 
the advancement of people at early stages of 
their careers, the Prize is not restricted to 
recognition of a lifetime of achievement, but may 
be awarded to individuals at any stage of their 
career to acknowledge and promote significant 
efforts they have made that combine scholarship 
and service.

It is appropriate to name this prize in honor of 
David Hull, a former president of our society who 
set a very high standard of interdisciplinary 
scholarship in his scholarly work, but also did 
important leg work to help found the philosophy 
of biology and worked tirelessly to build bridges 
among our disciplines.  He served as President of 
three very different societies (ISHPSSB 
(1991-1992), the Philosophy of Science 
Association (1985-6), and the Society of 
Systematic Zoologists (1984-5)), performed a 
great deal of service for these and a number of 
other societies, and did a great deal to foster 
the publication of interesting work in all of our 
disciplines. Among other things, David served for 
21 years as General Editor of the University of 
Chicago Press Series in the Conceptual 
Foundations of Science and as a member of about 
15 editorial boards of journals and 
encyclopedias.  David was a staunch and proud 
advocate of gay rights who brought the virtues of 
advocacy to his professional life.  He always 
sought to help those to whom doors were closed 
and was especially noteworthy for the many ways 
in which he assisted people at the beginning 
their careers, helping them, inter alia, to 
overcome any barriers put in their way and to 
improve their publications even when their 
viewpoints were strongly contrary to his own. 

Winners of the David L. Hull Prize will receive a 
medal in honor of their contributions to 
scholarship and service. We anticipate that the 
first medal will be awarded at the 2011 meeting 
in Salt Lake City.

A complete nomination package will consist of two 
letters of nomination each signed by at least one 
member of ISHPSSB and a current curriculum vitae 
of the candidate.  Because of the late 
announcement this year, the deadline for 
nominations will be 1 January, 2011; in future we 
anticipate that the deadline will be 1 July, 
approximately one year before the next annual 
meeting of ISHPSSB.  The nomination package must 
be sent to the Chair of the Committee, either by 
email with attachments (preferred) or by ordinary 
post.  The address to which to send nominations 
is at the end of this announcement.

The David L. Hull Prize Committee for 2011 consists of
Richard M. Burian, Chair	[log in to unmask]
Garland Allen			[log in to unmask]
Lindley Darden		        [log in to unmask]
Michael Dietrich		[log in to unmask];
Jean Gayon			[log in to unmask]
Jim Griesemer			[log in to unmask]
V. Betty Smocovitis		[log in to unmask]
Michel Morange		        [log in to unmask]
Maria Jesús Santesmases	[log in to unmask]

Nominations should be mailed to Richard Burian 
either at <mailto:[log in to unmask]>[log in to unmask] 
or to
Richard M. Burian
Chair, Hull Prize Committee
Department of Philosophy - 0126
Virginia Tech
Blacksburg, VA 24060

Ana Barahona
ISHPSSB President

*** End of announcement

  Send an email message to:
        [log in to unmask]
  with the following in the body of the message:
         SUBSCRIBE ISHPSB-L Yourfirstname Yourlastname
  For example, if your name were Gregor Mendel:
         SUBSCRIBE ISHPSB-L Gregor Mendel

  Send an email message to:
        [log in to unmask]
  with the following in the body of the message:
Professor Roberta L. Millstein
Listserv Moderator, International Society for
History, Philosophy, and Social Studies of Biology

Listserv archives: <>
Snail mail:
Department of Philosophy
University of California, Davis
One Shields Avenue
Davis, CA 95616-8673

Email: <[log in to unmask]>
Web: <>