ISHPSB-L Archives

April 2007


Options: Use Monospaced Font
Show HTML Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
"Roberta L. Millstein" <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
Intl Soc for the Hist Phil and Soc St of Biol <[log in to unmask]>
Tue, 17 Apr 2007 10:22:20 -0700
text/plain (3295 bytes) , text/html (4 kB)
Listserv for the International Society
for the History, Philosophy, and Social Studies of Biology

(see the end of this message for directions on how to subscribe and 
unsubscribe from this listserv)


To: ISHPSSB members
From: Michael R. Dietrich, Chair, Nominating Committee
Subject: Nominees for upcoming ISHPSSB election

  This message contains the preliminary slate for the upcoming ISHPSSB 
election. Many thanks to all who suggested names and to the members 
of the Nominating Committee for their hard work.

This year we must elect a President-Elect, who will become President 
for 2009-2011, a Program Officer for ISHPSSB 2009, a Secretary, a 
Treasurer, and three members of the council for 2007-2011.  Members 
are invited to review the slate below. If they desire, members may 
submit their own nominations.  The procedure to nominate others (or 
yourself) for any of the elected positions includes sending the name 
of the nominee, the position for which that individual is being 
nominated, a brief (200 word) biography, and the nominee's statement 
that she or he is willing to stand for election to Michael R. 
Dietrich, Chair of the Nominating Committee 
(<mailto:[log in to unmask]>[log in to unmask]). 
To be included on the final slate, each nominee must receive two 
nominations for the same position from current members of the 
Society. The final date for such nominations and supporting material 
is April 21st.

  The final slate of candidates will be mailed to members with 
supporting material and ballots in the spring newsletter. Be sure 
that your membership is up to date so that you will receive the 
printed newsletter. Watch for the newsletter and cast your ballot!

  In choosing the following nominees, the Nominating Committee strove 
to achieve balance with regard to field, gender, nationality, and 
experience. Additionally, some candidates have been nominated by the 
membership. Our sincere thanks to all who have agreed to be nominated.

	Preliminary Slate for the ISHPSSB 2007 election:

	Ana Barahona
	Elihu Gerson

Program Officer
	Manfred Laublicher and Marsha Richmond, Co-Chairs

	Roberta Millstein

	Lisa Gannett

Council (vote for three)
Tara Abraham
Christina Brandt
Nathaniel Comfort
John Dupre
Jean Gayon
Judy Johns Schloegel
Betty Smocovitis
Bruno Strasser

*** End of announcement

  Send an email message to:
        [log in to unmask]
  with the following in the body of the message:
         SUBSCRIBE ISHPSB-L Yourfirstname Yourlastname
  For example, if your name were Gregor Mendel:
         SUBSCRIBE ISHPSB-L Gregor Mendel

  Send an email message to:
        [log in to unmask]
  with the following in the body of the message:
Professor Roberta L. Millstein
Listserv Moderator, International Society for
History, Philosophy, and Social Studies of Biology

Listserv archives: <>
Snail mail:
Department of Philosophy
University of California, Davis
One Shields Avenue
Davis, CA 95616-8673

Email: <[log in to unmask]>
Web: <>