Listserv for the International Society
for the History, Philosophy, and Social Studies of Biology

(see the end of this message for directions on how to subscribe and unsubscribe from this listserv)

The 2011 ISHPSSB David Hull Prize Competition
ISHPSSB seeks nominations for the 2011 David L. Hull Prize for History, Philosophy, and Social Studies of Biology. The David L. Hull Prize honors an extraordinary contribution to scholarship and service that promotes interdisciplinary connections between history, philosophy, social studies, and biology. In the spirit of David Hull's own service to the profession and his support for the contributions the advancement of people at early stages of their careers, the Prize is not restricted to recognition of a lifetime of achievement, but may be awarded to individuals at any stage of their career to acknowledge and promote significant efforts they have made that combine scholarship and service.

It is appropriate to name this prize in honor of David Hull, a former president of our society who set a very high standard of interdisciplinary scholarship in his scholarly work, but also did important leg work to help found the philosophy of biology and worked tirelessly to build bridges among our disciplines.  He served as President of three very different societies (ISHPSSB (1991-1992), the Philosophy of Science Association (1985-6), and the Society of Systematic Zoologists (1984-5)), performed a great deal of service for these and a number of other societies, and did a great deal to foster the publication of interesting work in all of our disciplines. Among other things, David served for 21 years as General Editor of the University of Chicago Press Series in the Conceptual Foundations of Science and as a member of about 15 editorial boards of journals and encyclopedias.  David was a staunch and proud advocate of gay rights who brought the virtues of advocacy to his professional life.  He always sought to help those to whom doors were closed and was especially noteworthy for the many ways in which he assisted people at the beginning their careers, helping them, inter alia, to overcome any barriers put in their way and to improve their publications even when their viewpoints were strongly contrary to his own. 

Winners of the David L. Hull Prize will receive a medal in honor of their contributions to scholarship and service. We anticipate that the first medal will be awarded at the 2011 meeting in Salt Lake City.

A complete nomination package will consist of two letters of nomination each signed by at least one member of ISHPSSB and a current curriculum vitae of the candidate.  Because of the late announcement this year, the deadline for nominations will be 1 January, 2011; in future we anticipate that the deadline will be 1 July, approximately one year before the next annual meeting of ISHPSSB.  The nomination package must be sent to the Chair of the Committee, either by email with attachments (preferred) or by ordinary post.  The address to which to send nominations is at the end of this announcement.

The David L. Hull Prize Committee for 2011 consists of
Richard M. Burian, Chair      [log in to unmask]
Garland Allen                    [log in to unmask]
Lindley Darden                  [log in to unmask]
Michael Dietrich          [log in to unmask];
Jean Gayon                      [log in to unmask]
Jim Griesemer                   [log in to unmask]
V. Betty Smocovitis             [log in to unmask]
Michel Morange                  [log in to unmask]
Maria Jesús Santesmases  [log in to unmask]
Nominations should be mailed to Richard Burian either at [log in to unmask] or to
Richard M. Burian
Chair, Hull Prize Committee
Department of Philosophy - 0126
Virginia Tech
Blacksburg, VA 24060
Ana Barahona
ISHPSSB President

*** End of announcement

 Send an email message to:
       [log in to unmask]
 with the following in the body of the message:
        SUBSCRIBE ISHPSB-L Yourfirstname Yourlastname
 For example, if your name were Gregor Mendel:
        SUBSCRIBE ISHPSB-L Gregor Mendel

 Send an email message to:
       [log in to unmask]
 with the following in the body of the message:
Professor Roberta L. Millstein
Listserv Moderator, International Society for
History, Philosophy, and Social Studies of Biology

Listserv archives: <>
Snail mail:
Department of Philosophy
University of California, Davis
One Shields Avenue
Davis, CA 95616-8673

Email: <[log in to unmask]>
Web: <>